Ebooks Reference Articles Audio & VideoLibrary Services at Isothermal Community College has relocated, temporarily, to Room 17 of the Business Sciences building (BSCI 17) to prepare for an upcoming renovation of the library building. Library Services are available to the students and employees of the college, and the public, as before, with a few minor changes.
Hours during the relocation:
Monday through Thursday: 7:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
Friday: 7:30 a.m. to Noon
The following collections are available for visitors to browse in BSCI 17 and check out immediately.
The microfilm collection is also available to browse, view, and make copies. Bring a flash drive to save documents for later use.
The General Collection and Special Collections (Tryon Rare Books, Tryon Reference, & Tryon circulating books) are in remote storage. Books from these collections will need to be retrieved by a library staff member and brought to BSCI 17 for patrons to use or check out. Please review our videos on How to Shelf Browse Using the Library Catalog and How to Place a Hold Using the Library Catalog Evergreen for ease of access to these collections.
If you need to return library items when we are not open, please use the book drop located at the front of the library building to the left of the entry vestibule.
If you have questions please contact Charles Wiggins, Director of Library Services, 828-395-1306, cpwiggins@isothermal.edu
Dogwood Digital Library
Isothermal Community College is pleased to announce our newest online offering, the Dogwood Digital Library (dogwood.overdrive.com)
About Dogwood Digital Library
The consortium behind Dogwood is made up of several North Carolina community college libraries. We are using a platform called Overdrive, and if you have ever used the North Carolina Digital Library’s reading app Libby, this will be very familiar. In fact, on your phone or tablet, the Libby by Overdrive is the app you will use to access this collection.
The database already has thousands of titles that are ready for use, and we will be adding more frequently.
Here’s how to start using it on your computer now:
1. Visit Dogwood (dogwood.overdrive.com)
2. Look for the orange [Sign In] button on the right side of the page
3. In the “Select your library” drop-down choose “Isothermal Community College”
4. Click the big orange [Sign in] button below
5. You will be redirected to the proxy login page, just like any other library database
6. Log in using your Patriot Port credentials
7. Enjoy Dogwood Digital
Here is how to start using it on your smartphone or tablet now:
1. Download the Libby by Overdrive app
2. Select Isothermal Community College as your library
3. You will be redirected to the Patriot Port proxy login access point
4. Enter your Patriot Port credentials
5. Enjoy Dogwood Digital
Frequently Asked Questions
(library.isothermal.edu/online/dogwood_faq)
Chat with a librarian.
Operated by ChatStaff and LibraryH3lp,
24/7 except federal holidays.
We are taking a break from History Matters in preparation for our upcoming building renovation. Please enjoy the recordings of our previous events.