Once you have researched and formed an opinion about the verdict, try searching the books and databases below for potential sources you can use for your essay. Try to find sources that provide evidence to support your opinion about the verdict.
Alabama Justice : The Cases and Faces That Changed a Nation by
WINNER OF THE ANNE B. & JAMES B. MCMILLAN PRIZE IN SOUTHERN HISTORY Examines the legacies of eight momentous US Supreme Court decisions that have their origins in Alabama legal disputes Unknown to many, Alabama has played a remarkable role in a number of Supreme Court rulings that continue to touch the lives of every American. In Alabama Justice: The Cases and Faces That Changed a Nation, Steven P. Brown has identified eight landmark cases that deal with religion, voting rights, libel, gender discrimination, and other issues, all originating from legal disputes in Alabama. Written in a concise and accessible manner, each case law chapter begins with the circumstances that created the dispute. Brown then provides historical and constitutional background for the issue followed by a review of the path of litigation. Excerpts from the Court's ruling in the case are also presented, along with a brief account of the aftermath and significance of the decision. The First Amendment (New York Times v. Sullivan), racial redistricting (Gomillion v. Lightfoot), the Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment (Frontiero v. Richardson), and prayer in public schools (Wallace v. Jaffree) are among the pivotal issues stamped indelibly by disputes with their origins in Alabama legal, political, and cultural landscapes. By examining such landmark twentieth-century milestones and eras such as the Scottsboro Boys trial, the Civil Rights movement, and the fight for women's rights through a legal lens, Brown sheds new and unexpected light on the ways that events in Alabama have shaped the nation. In addition to his analysis of cases, Brown discusses the three associate Supreme Court justices from Alabama to the Supreme Court: John McKinley, John Archibald Campbell, and Hugo Black. Their cumulative influence on constitutional interpretation, the institution of the Court, and the day-to-day rights and liberties enjoyed by every American is impossible to measure. A closing chapter examines the careers and contributions of these three Alabamians.
Did They Really Do It? : From Lizzie Borden to the 20th Hijacker by
Nine of the most controversial violent crimes in America's history are reexamined in these compelling stories of true crime Dr. Samuel Mudd set John Wilkes Booth's broken ankle, but was he actually part of the larger conspiracy to assassinate President Abraham Lincoln? Did Lizzie Borden brutally murder her own parents in Massachusetts? Was admitted jihadist Zacarias Moussaoui really involved in the terrorist plot to destroy the World Trade Center on September 11, 2001? In a series of provocative and eye-opening true crime investigations, author Fred Rosen revisits some of the most shocking and notorious crimes in America over the past two centuries to determine once and for all . . . did they really do it? Applying logic and techniques of modern criminology while reexamining the crime scenes, official police records, and the original courtroom testimonies of witnesses and the accused, Rosen explores nine infamous crimes that rocked the nation and the verdicts that were ultimately handed down. From Ethel and Julius Rosenberg's execution for treason to the kidnapping and killing of the Lindbergh baby to the Ku Klux Klan slayings of three civil rights workers in Mississippi to 9/11, the alleged perpetrators get another day in court as Rosen calls into question the circumstantial evidence and cultural context that may have determined guilt or innocence in each case.
Famous Trials in History by
Famous Trials in History collects 100 significant legal trials from time periods and places ranging from Socrates in classical Greece and Joan of Arc in medieval France to Saddam Hussein in modern Iraq. Each entry includes the trial's key issues, a history of the case, a summary of arguments, the verdict, the significance of the case, and readings for further study.
Great American Court Cases Series by
This resource, while focusing primarily on Supreme Court cases, also includes major federal or state cases that set precedents. It contains cases organized by broad legal principles, then arranged alphabetically under the more specific legal issue.
A pictorial history of the world's great trials, from Socrates to Eichmann by
Captures the climactic moments in the world's most riveting trials by providing a complete background on each trial
Popular trials : rhetoric, mass media, and the law by
This critical study of seven popular trials illustrates the interaction of the law and the mass media.
Popular Trials : Rhetoric, Mass Media, and the Law by
Contemporary scholarship illustrates the lawOCOs increasingly powerful role in American life; legal education, in turn, has focused on the problems and techniques of communication.aThis book addresses these interests through critical study of eight popular trials: the 17th-century trial of Dr. Henry Sacheverell, and the 20th-century trials of Scopes, the Rosenbergs, the Chicago Seven, the Catonsville Nine, John Hinckley, Claus von Bulow, and San Diego Mayor Larry Hedgecock.aSuch trials spark major public debates, become symbols of public life, and legitimize particular beliefs and institutions. Despite high visibility and drama, however, the popular trial has not received sufficient study as persuasive event.aLying at the intersection of the institutional practices of law and the mass media, the popular trial has confounded study according to the conventional assumptions of scholarship in both law and communication studies. aaaaaaaaaaa This volume defines popular trials as a genre of public communication, a genre that includes trials unusually prominent within public discourse.aFurther, popular trials are often characterize by special media presentations through televised coverage of the trial itself and news analysis, intense audience identification with the principal actors, and political and social consequences independent of the legal action.aThe essays in this volume stress the rhetorical functions of popular trials.aContributors in addition to the editor include Lawrance M. Bernabo, Barry Brummett, Celeste Michelle Condit, Juliet Dee, Susan J. Drucker, J. Justin Gustainis, Janice Platt Hunold, William Lewis, John Louis Lucaites, and Larry A. Williamson. "
Stories of Great Crimes and Trials, from American Heritage Magazine by
Includes articles on Daniel Webster, Lizzie Borden, Parson Avery, Daniel E. Sickles, Harry Thaw, Stanford White, Evelyn Nesbit, Aaron Burr conspiracy, Sacco-Vanzetti, William Penn, John Adams and Boston Massacre trial, trial of John Brown, Boss Tweed, Warren Harding and the Teapot Dome scandal, "Black Sox" 1920 World Series scandal, James Addison Reavis, Charles Ponzi, Johnson County War, Nat Turner, Dred Scott case, Scottsboro Case, assassination of Abraham Lincoln, assassination of James A. Garfield, and Mafia New Orleans lynchings, among others.
"HOW SHE WAS FINALLY CAUGHT!" Woman's Day Magazine NZ, 15 Feb. 2022, p. 38. Gale General OneFile, link.gale.com/apps/doc/A736546200/GPS?u=ncliveisocc&sid=bookmark-GPS&xid=775f10d2. Accessed 14 Feb. 2024.
A brief summary of Anna Sorokin's invented life, scams, arrest, and conviction.
Pressler, Jessica. "May be She Had So Much Money She Just Lost Track of It: Somebody had to foot the bill for Anna Delvey's fabulous new life." New York Magazine, vol. 51, no. 11, 28 May 2018, pp. 30+. Gale Academic OneFile, link.gale.com/apps/doc/A545892437/AONE?u=ncliveisocc&sid=bookmark-AONE&xid=7a103893.
In May 2018, New York Magazine published “Maybe She Had So Much Money She Just Lost Track of It,” which chronicles the unusual rise of Anna “Delvey” Sorokin. The article, by Jessica Pressler, inspired the book "My Friend Anna," and is now the basis of a Netflix limited series produced by Shonda Rhimes.
My friend Anna : the true story of a fake heiress by
Williams' book provides an insider's perspective on the Anna Delvey case, offering insights into the life and deception of the Russian-born con artist who posed as a wealthy German heiress.
“How con-artist Anna Sorokin ripped off the New York elite and became a star.” YouTube, uploaded by 60 Minutes Australia, 18 April 2021, www.youtube.com/watch?v=WBlpjSEtELs.
"In an elaborate scam, this 30-year-old woman convinced New York’s rich and famous she was a German heiress about to inherit a US$60 million fortune, and then used her lies to live the high life on their money. She copped three years in prison for her fraud, but as Liam Bartlett found out in an extraordinary interview, the enigmatic Sorokin is totally unrepentant. She boldly believes there’s nothing wrong with making it by faking it."
Rhimes, Shonda, Creator. Inventing Anna. Shondaland, 2022, Netflix, netflix.com.
This limited series is inspired by the case of Anna Delvey, offering a dramatized account of her life and the legal proceedings surrounding her fraudulent activities.
Dean, Michelle. “Dee Dee Wanted Her Daughter to Be Sick, Gypsy Wanted Her Mom Murdered.” BuzzFeed News, BuzzFeed News, 19 Aug. 2016, www.buzzfeednews.com/article/michelledean/dee-dee-wanted-her-daughter-to-be-sick-gypsy-wanted-her-mom.
This BuzzFeed News article, co-authored by Gypsy Rose Blanchard and Michelle Dean, provides a firsthand account of the events leading up to the murder and the complex dynamics of the mother-daughter relationship.
Antosca, Nick and Michelle Dean, Creators. The Act. 2019, Hulu, hulu.com.
While a dramatization, this TV series is based on the Gypsy Rose Blanchard case, providing a visual narrative of the complex relationship between Gypsy and her mother.
“Mommy Dead and Dearest.” Films On Demand, Films Media Group, 2017, https://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=17856&xtid=138084.
A 2017 HBO documentary, "Featuring exclusive interviews with Gypsy Rose, Mommy Dead and Dearest unravels a tangled web of lies, child abuse, mental illness and forbidden love. It’s a real-life mystery about a mother and daughter who everybody thought were living a fairy-tale life, but who turned out to be sharing a living nightmare."
"Frank, Leo 1884-1915." American Decades, edited by Judith S. Baughman, et al., vol. 2: 1910-1919, Gale, 2001. Gale In Context: U.S. History, link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX3468300521/UHIC?u=ncliveisocc&sid=summon&xid=bca4891a.
A brief overview of the Leo Frank case.
Cornerstones of Georgia History : Documents that Formed the State by
This collection of fifty-nine primary documents presents multiple viewpoints on more than four centuries of growth, conflict, and change in Georgia. The selections range from a captive's account of a 1597 Indian revolt against Spanish missionaries on the Georgia coast to an impassioned debate in 1992 between county commissioners and environmental activists over a proposed hazardous waste facility in Taylor County. Drawn from such sources as government records, newspapers, oral histories, personal diaries, and letters, the documents give a voice to the concerns and experiences of men and women representing the diverse races, ethnic groups, and classes that, over time, have contributed to the state's history.
Did They Really Do It? : From Lizzie Borden to the 20th Hijacker by
Nine of the most controversial violent crimes in America's history are reexamined in these compelling stories of true crime Dr. Samuel Mudd set John Wilkes Booth's broken ankle, but was he actually part of the larger conspiracy to assassinate President Abraham Lincoln? Did Lizzie Borden brutally murder her own parents in Massachusetts? Was admitted jihadist Zacarias Moussaoui really involved in the terrorist plot to destroy the World Trade Center on September 11, 2001? In a series of provocative and eye-opening true crime investigations, author Fred Rosen revisits some of the most shocking and notorious crimes in America over the past two centuries to determine once and for all . . . did they really do it? Applying logic and techniques of modern criminology while reexamining the crime scenes, official police records, and the original courtroom testimonies of witnesses and the accused, Rosen explores nine infamous crimes that rocked the nation and the verdicts that were ultimately handed down. From Ethel and Julius Rosenberg's execution for treason to the kidnapping and killing of the Lindbergh baby to the Ku Klux Klan slayings of three civil rights workers in Mississippi to 9/11, the alleged perpetrators get another day in court as Rosen calls into question the circumstantial evidence and cultural context that may have determined guilt or innocence in each case.
Impartial Justice : The Real Supreme Court Cases That Define the Constitutional Right to a Neutral and Detached Decisionmaker by
This book examines the right to a neutral and detached decisionmaker as interpreted by the U.S. Supreme Court. This right resides in the Constitution's Fifth Amendment and Fourteenth Amendment guarantees to procedural due process and in the Sixth Amendment's promise of an impartial jury. Supreme Court cases on these topics are the vehicles to understand how these constitutional rights have come alive. First, the book surveys the right to an impartial jury in criminal cases by telling the stories of defendants whose convictions were overturned after they were the victims of prejudicial pretrial publicity, mob justice, and discriminatory jury selection. Next, the book articulates how our modern notion of judicial impartiality was forged by the Court striking down cases where judges were bribed, where they had other direct financial stakes in the outcome of the case, and where a judge decided the case of a major campaign supporter. Finally, the book traces the development of the right to a neutral decisionmaker in quasi-judicial, non-court settings, including cases involving parole revocation, medical license review, mental health commitments, prison discipline, and enemy combatants. Each chapter begins with the typically shocking facts of these cases being retold, and each chapter ends with a critical examination of the Supreme Court's ultimate decisions in these cases.
Lynching : American Mob Murder in Global Perspective by
Addressing one of the most controversial and emotive issues of American history, this book presents a thorough reexamination of the background, dynamics, and decline of American lynching. It argues that collective homicide in the US can only be partly understood through a discussion of the unsettled southern political situation after 1865, but must also be seen in the context of a global conversation about changing cultural meanings of 'race'. A deeper comprehension of the course of mob murder and the dynamics that drove it emerges through comparing the situation in the US with violence that was and still is happening around the world. Drawing on a variety of approaches - historical, anthropological and literary - the study shows how concepts of imperialism, gender, sexuality, and civilization profoundly affected the course of mob murder in the US. Lynching provides thought-provoking analyses of cases where race was - and was not - a factor. The book is constructed as a series of case studies grouped into three thematic sections. Part I, Understanding Lynching, starts with accounts of mob murder around the world. Part II, Lynching and Cultural Change, examines shifting concepts of race, gender, and sexuality by drawing first on the romantic travel and adventure fiction of the era 1880-1920, from authors such as H. Rider Haggard and Edgar Rice Burroughs. Changing images of black and white bodies form another major focus of this section. Part III, Blood, Debate, and Redemption in Georgia, follows the story of American collective murder and growing opposition to it in Georgia, a key site of lynching, in the early twentieth century. By situating American mob murder in a wide international context, and viewing the phenomenon as more than simply a tool of racial control, this book presents a reappraisal of one of the most unpleasant, yet important periods of America's history, one that remains crucial for understanding race relations and collective violence around the world.
Under sentence of death : lynching in the South by
This collection of essays explores "such topics as same-race lynchings, black resistance to white violence, and the political motivations for lynching ... The book raises important questions about Southern history, race relations, and the nature of American violence."
Homicide by the Rich and Famous : A Century of Prominent Killers by
Many people express shock and horror when they hear of a wealthy or famous person killing another person. As a society, we seem to expect the rich and famous to behave better, to commit fewer crimes, to be immune to the passions that inspire other, less prominent people to kill. After all, the rich and famous have everythingOCowhy would they need to murder? But the rich and famous kill for the very same reasons others do: love, power, money, jealousy, greed, revenge, and rage. Here, Scott takes us on a tour of murders committed by the rich and famous during the last century, looking at the motives, the responses of the community and local law enforcement, the media, and the outcomes. She argues that the rich and famous may kill for the same reasons as others, but they receive vastly different treatment and are often able to get away with murder.Homicide by the rich and famous is not new in this country, nor is fascination with the crimes committed by our most revered citizens. But being among the upper echelon of society does afford such suspects with a greater ability to escape punishment. They have greater access to better respresentation, they have the means to flee the country, they have influential friends in high places willing to put themselves on the line, and they are generally treated better by law enforcement and the criminal justice system. This book profiles the many ways in which homicides committed by the rich and famous are similar to other murders in their motives, but differ from those committed by everyday citizens in their outcomes. Scott provides readers with a showcase of crimes that will infuriate and fascinate readers.
Menendez murders : the shocking untold story of the Menendez family and the killings that stunned the nation by
The Menendez saga has captivated the American public since 1989. The killing of José and Kitty Menendez on a quiet Sunday evening in Beverly Hills didn't make the cover of People magazine until the arrest of their sons seven months later, and the case developed an intense cult following. When the first Menendez trial began in July 1993, the public was convinced that Lyle and Erik were a pair of greedy rich kids who had killed loving, devoted parents. But the real story remained buried beneath years of dark secrets. Until now.
"Secret Lives: The Menendez Brothers." Issues, 13 June 2014. Gale General OneFile, link.gale.com/apps/doc/A371230961/ITOF?u=ncliveisocc&sid=summon&xid=ce3e4756.
From an interview with Lyle and other commentators that aired on CNN on May 30, 2014.
Inside the Nuremberg Trial by
Inside the Nuremberg Trial is a two volume set that provides the most comprehensive and accessible representation of the trial of the major German war criminals before the International Military Tribunal at Nuremberg, Germany following World War II. The author discusses the evidence, the arguments of counsel for both the Prosecution and the Defense, and the judgment of the International Military Tribunal. He covers each stage of the trial from early preparation to the judgment, and concludes with a summary of the legacy of the trial in recent history. Separate parts of the book deal with the presentation of the American, British, French, and Soviet delegations of the Prosecution, and separate chapters discuss the defense of each of the twenty-two defendants and each of the seven accused organizations. In addition, the author deals with the evidence of the persecution of the Jews before World War II through the evidence of the persecution and murder of Jews, Gypsies and others during the war. Separate chapters focus on the murders by the Einsatzgruppen (Special Task Force Group) and the destruction of the Warsaw ghetto.
Inside the Nuremberg Trial : A Prosecutor's Comprehensive Account, Vol. 1&2 (Set) by
Inside the Nuremberg Trial is a two volume set that provides the most comprehensive and accessible representation of the trial of the major German war criminals before the International Military Tribunal at Nuremberg, Germany following World War II. The author discusses the evidence, the arguments of counsel for both the Prosecution and the Defense, and the judgment of the International Military Tribunal. He covers each stage of the trial from early preparation to the judgment, and concludes with a summary of the legacy of the trial in recent history. Separate parts of the book deal with the presentation of the American, British, French, and Soviet delegations of the Prosecution, and separate chapters discuss the defense of each of the twenty-two defendants and each of the seven accused organizations. In addition, the author deals with the evidence of the persecution of the Jews before World War II through the evidence of the persecution and murder of Jews, Gypsies and others during the war. Separate chapters focus on the murders by the Einsatzgruppen (Special Task Force Group) and the destruction of the Warsaw ghetto.
Justice at Nuremberg by 
Nuremberg : infamy on trial by
The Nuremburg trials remain, after nearly a half a century, the benchmark for judging international crimes. Using new sources--ground-breaking research in the papers of the Nuremburg prison psychiatrist and commandant, the letters and journals of the prisoners, and accounts of the judges and prosecutors as they struggled through each day making compromises and steeling their convictions--Joseph Persico retells the story of Nuremburg, combining sweeping history with psychological insight. Here are brilliant, chilling portraits of the Nazi warlords and riveting descriptions of the tensions between law and vengeance, between East and West, and of the friction already present in the early stages of the Cold War.
The Nuremberg Trial by
ollects documents and essays recounting the Nuremberg Trials in Germany that brought Nazi war criminals to justice after World War II.
The Nuremberg Trials: The Nazis brought to justice by
At 10.00 am on 20 November 1945, Sir Geoffrey Lawrence, the presiding judge at the first of the Nuremberg Trials, opened proceedings at what he described as a trial that was'unique in the history of jurisprudence'.What followed were 11 days of accusations and rebuttals that would determine the fate of 21 Nazi leaders and see the indictment of three others in their absence. The charges against them included war crimes, crimes against humanity, crimes against peace and the conspiracy to commit those crimes.Judges, administrators and onlookers alike had to steel themselves as they listened to a catalogue of barbaric and sickening acts.Compellingly, The Nuremberg Trials recalls the events of that first trial, the people involved - both accusers and accused - and explores the impact and consequences that it would have on subsequent trials at Nuremberg and in Tokyo (where Japanese leaders were also tried) and on the future of international law and tribunals.
The Nuremberg war crimes trial, 1945-46 : a documentary history by
Commemorating the fiftieth anniversary of the most important judicial proceeding of the twentieth century, this is the first book to examine historically the indictment of 22 Nazi leaders at the end of World War II. Skillfully weaving text and documents, the author presents the complex trial in its dramatic setting, in its historical context, and in legal perspective. The wide array of 73 primary documents - including journalistic accounts, private reflections, and tribunal transcripts - lets students evaluate first-hand the words of both prosecutors and defendants. Also provided are photographs of the trial, a chronology, brief biographies of the defendants, a selected bibliography, and an index.
A pictorial history of the world's great trials, from Socrates to Eichmann by
Captures the climactic moments in the world's most riveting trials by providing a complete background on each trial
Anatomy of a Trial : Public Loss, Lessons Learned From The People Vs. O.J. Simpson by
The People vs. O. J. Simpson ranks indisputably as the trial of the century. It featured a double murder, a celebrity defendant, a perjuring witness, and a glove that didn't fit. The trial became a media circus of outrageous proportions that led the judge to sequester the jury, eject disruptive reporters, and fine the lawyers thousands of dollars. Now an insider at The People vs. O. J. Simpson reveals the untold story of the most widely followed trial in American history and the indelible impact it has had on the judiciary, the media, and the public. As the Los Angeles Superior Court's media liaison, Jerrianne Hayslett had unprecedented access to the trial—and met with Judge Lance Ito daily—as she attempted, sometimes unsuccessfully, to mediate between the court and members of the media and to balance their interests. In Anatomy of a Trial, she takes readers behind the scenes to shed new light on people and proceedings and to show how the media and the trial participants changed the court-media landscape to the detriment of the public's understanding of the judicial system. For those who think they've already read all there is to know about the Simpson trial, this book is an eye-opener. Hayslett kept a detailed journal during the proceedings in which she recorded anecdotes and commentary. She also shares previously undisclosed information to expose some of the myths and stereotypes perpetuated by the trial, while affirming other stories that emerged during that time. By examining this trial after more than a decade, she shows how it has produced a bunker mentality in the judicial system, shaping media and public access to courts with lasting impact on such factors as cameras in the courtroom, jury selection, admonishments from the bench, and fair-trial/free-press tensions. The first account of the trial written with Judge Ito's cooperation, Anatomy of a Trial is a page-turning narrative and features photographs that capture both the drama of the courtroom and the excesses of the media. It also includes perspectives of legal and journalism authorities and offers a blueprint for how the courts and media can better meet their responsibilities to the public. Even today, judges, lawyers, and journalists across the country say the Simpson trial changed everything. This book finally tells us why.
DNA in the courtroom : a trial watcher's guide by 
Media Spectacle by
During the mid-1990s, the O.J. Simpson murder trial dominated the media in the United States and were circulated throughout the world via global communications networks. The case became a spectacle of race, gender, class and violence, bringing in elements of domestic melodrama, crime drama and legal drama. According to this fascinating new book, the Simpson case was just one example of what the author calls 'media spectacle' - a form of media culture that puts contemporary dreams, nightmares, fantasies and values on display. Through the analysis of several such media spectacles - including Elvis, The X Files, Michael Jordan, and the Bill Clinton sex scandals - Doug Kellner draws out important insights into media, journalism, the public sphere and politics in an era of new technologies. In this excellent follow up to his best selling Media Culture, Kellner's fascinating new volume delivers an informative read for students of sociology, culture and media.
Murder, Culture, and Injustice : Four Sensational Cases in American History by
Walter Hixson's pithy narrative account of four sensational murder cases---the Lizzie Borden, Lindbergh baby, Sam Sheppard, and O.J. Simpson trials---offers interesting observations into the greater cultural and political forces that shaped their verdicts. His step-by-step analysis of the details of each case provides not only insight by skillful synthesis of the existing literature but also a solid overview of the events surrounding these four cases, each of which became a national obsession as well as a miscarriage of justice. Taking a fresh look at the criminal justice system and the role of the media in the larger American milieu, Hixson delves into sociocultural impacts of crime that are both thought-provoking and fascinating reading.
O. J. Simpson Facts and Fictions : News Rituals in the Construction of Reality by
Abundant popular discourses surround the O. J. Simpson double murder case. By contrast, Darnell M. Hunt scrutinizes these very discourses in order to further our understanding of the interests underlying them. Exploring the relationships between O. J.'s trial, the social location of television viewers (their race, gender and class) and everyday consciousness of social issues, his textual and audience analyses consider the incredible allure of the trial as 'media event'. Looking beyond the obvious explanations of celebrity, scandal and voyeurism, Dr Hunt asks: why was America so obsessed by this case? Why were so many people interested in particular outcomes? and what are we to make of the apparent racial divide in attitudes about the case, as shown in the opinion polls? O. J. Simpson Facts and Fictions incorporates insights from sociology and cultural studies to examine the implications for race relations in the United States at the dawn of the new millennium.
The power of the prosecutor : gatekeepers of the criminal justice system by
Prosecutors have a powerful and generally little-understood role in the criminal justice system. Their important powers include accepting or rejecting cases, making decisions about dismissing charges, or moving cases to disposition and recommending a sentence - all of which can critically affect not only individuals but society through prosecutors' ability to shape our criminal justice system.
The casebook of forensic detection : how science solved 100 of the world's most baffling crimes by
Fifteen different fields of forensics are examined, each accompanied by a brief introduction and real-life examples of practical applications.
In Search of Sacco and Vanzetti : Double Lives, Troubled Times, and the Massachusetts Murder Case That Shook the World by
It was a bold and brutal crime—robbery and murder in broad daylight on the streets of South Braintree, Massachusetts, in 1920. Tried for the crime and convicted, two Italian-born laborers, anarchists Nicola Sacco and Bartolomeo Vanzetti, went to the electric chair in 1927, professing their innocence. Journalist Susan Tejada has spent years investigating the case, sifting through diaries and police reports and interviewing descendants of major figures. She discovers little-known facts about Sacco, Vanzetti, and their supporters, and develops a tantalizing theory about how a doomed insider may have been coerced into helping professional criminals plan the heist.Tejada's close-up view of the case allows readers to see those involved as individual personalities. She also paints a fascinating portrait of a bygone era: Providence gangsters and Boston Brahmins; nighttime raids and midnight bombings; and immigration, unionism, draft dodging, and violent anarchism in the turbulent early years of the twentieth century. In many ways this is as much a cultural history as a true-crime mystery or courtroom drama. Because the case played out against a background of domestic terrorism, in a time that echoes our own, we have a new appreciation of the potential connection between fear and the erosion of civil liberties and miscarriages of justice.
The Lives of Sacco and Vanzetti by
Rick Geary tackles the most controversial case of the 20th century. Anarchists Sacco & Vanzetti were accused of robbery and murder but so many supposedly damning pieces of evidence were questionable their guilty verdict elicited massive protests around the world. Geary presents us with all the twists and turns, appeals and dubious evidence after presenting us the human face of the two men, demonized by many, turned to martyrs by many others in his usual unflappable way.
A pictorial history of the world's great trials, from Socrates to Eichmann by
Captures the climactic moments in the world's most riveting trials by providing a complete background on each trial
The Sacco-Vanzetti Affair : America on Trial by
What began as the obscure local case of two Italian immigrant anarchists accused of robbery and murder flared into an unprecedented political and legal scandal as the perception grew that their conviction was a judicial travesty and their execution a political murder. This book is the first to reveal the full national and international scope of the Sacco-Vanzetti affair, uncovering how and why the two men became the center of a global cause célèbre that shook public opinion and transformed America's relationship with the world. Drawing on extensive research on two continents, and written with verve, this book connects the Sacco-Vanzetti affair to the most polarizing political and social concerns of its era. Moshik Temkin contends that the worldwide attention to the case was generated not only by the conviction that innocent men had been condemned for their radical politics and ethnic origins but also as part of a reaction to U.S. global supremacy and isolationism after World War I. The author further argues that the international protest, which helped make Sacco and Vanzetti famous men, ultimately provoked their executions. The book concludes by investigating the affair's enduring repercussions and what they reveal about global political action, terrorism, jingoism, xenophobia, and the politics of our own time.
Stories of Great Crimes and Trials, from American Heritage Magazine by
Includes articles on Daniel Webster, Lizzie Borden, Parson Avery, Daniel E. Sickles, Harry Thaw, Stanford White, Evelyn Nesbit, Aaron Burr conspiracy, Sacco-Vanzetti, William Penn, John Adams and Boston Massacre trial, trial of John Brown, Boss Tweed, Warren Harding and the Teapot Dome scandal, "Black Sox" 1920 World Series scandal, James Addison Reavis, Charles Ponzi, Johnson County War, Nat Turner, Dred Scott case, Scottsboro Case, assassination of Abraham Lincoln, assassination of James A. Garfield, and Mafia New Orleans lynchings, among others.
Dr. Sam Sheppard on Trial : The Prosecutors and the Marilyn Sheppard Murder by
Marilyn Sheppard, four months pregnant and mother of a toddler son, was bludgeoned to death in her Bay Village, Ohio, home in the early morning of July 4, 1954. The cause of death was twenty-seven blows to the head with a heavy instrument. Who took her life so brutally has been the subject of much controversy and debate for nearly a half-century. Was it her husband, Dr. Sam Sheppard, who was convicted in what was then called “the Trial of the Century,” in the case that helped inspire the TV series and the movie The Fugitive? Or was the killer, as Dr. Sam claimed, a “bushy-haired intruder”? Or could it have been Richard Eberling, the window washer who worked for the family, as the Sheppards’ son, Sam Reese Sheppard, believes? Dr. Sam spent ten years in prison before the U.S. Supreme Court overturned the initial verdict in an important legal decision, determining that the doctor did not receive a fair trial due to excessive press coverage. Defended by F. Lee Bailey in his second trial in Cleveland, Sheppard was found not guilty of his wife’s murder. And then in 2000, in what has been referred to as “the Retrial of the Century,” Sam Reese Sheppard attempted to prove in a civil trial, while suing the State of Ohio for millions of dollars, that his father had been wrongly incarcerated. Dr. Sam Sheppard on Trial presents a comprehensive and final analysis of this controversial case from the perspective of the prosecutors. Jack P. DeSario, together with co-author William D. Mason, chief attorney for Cuyahoga County, Ohio, provides all the facts, evidence, expert testimony, both old and new, and sworn statements of the principals in this case, which concluded in April 2000. The jury unanimously found that Dr. Sheppard was not innocent.
Mortal evidence : the forensics behind nine shocking cases by
A forensic pathologist goes behind-the-scenes to provide a look into nine famous crime investigations, providing insights into the cases of such notable personalities as JonBenet Ramsey, Ted Binion, and Tammy Wynette.
Murder, Culture, and Injustice : Four Sensational Cases in American History by
Walter Hixson's pithy narrative account of four sensational murder cases---the Lizzie Borden, Lindbergh baby, Sam Sheppard, and O.J. Simpson trials---offers interesting observations into the greater cultural and political forces that shaped their verdicts. His step-by-step analysis of the details of each case provides not only insight by skillful synthesis of the existing literature but also a solid overview of the events surrounding these four cases, each of which became a national obsession as well as a miscarriage of justice. Taking a fresh look at the criminal justice system and the role of the media in the larger American milieu, Hixson delves into sociocultural impacts of crime that are both thought-provoking and fascinating reading.
The Wrong Man : The Final Verdict on the Dr. Sam Sheppard Murder Case by
This Edgar Award finalist--one of Ann Rule's top five true-crime picks--is a "gripping" definitive account of the Dr. Sam Sheppard murder case (The New York Times Book Review). "My God . . . I think they've killed Marilyn!" At 5:40 a.m. on July 4, 1954, the mayor of Bay Village, a small suburb of Cleveland, Ohio, received a frantic phone call from his neighbor Dr. Sam Sheppard. The news was too terrible to comprehend: Marilyn, Sam's lovely wife, was dead, her face and torso beaten beyond recognition by an unknown assailant who had knocked Sam unconscious and escaped just before dawn. In the adjacent bedroom, Chip, the Sheppards' seven-year-old son, had slept through the entire ordeal. Almost immediately, the police began to suspect Sam Sheppard. The local press rushed to cast judgment on the handsome, prosperous doctor. After a misguided investigation, Sheppard was arrested and charged with murder. Sentenced to life in prison, he served for nearly a decade before he was acquitted in a retrial. Until his death, he maintained his innocence. Culled from DNA evidence, testimony that was never heard in court, prison diaries, and interviews with the Sheppard family and other key players, The Wrong Man makes a convincing case for Sheppard's innocence and reveals the identity of the real killer. This ebook contains ten photographs not included in previous editions.
A pictorial history of the world's great trials, from Socrates to Eichmann by
Captures the climactic moments in the world's most riveting trials by providing a complete background on each trial
Popular trials : rhetoric, mass media, and the law by
This critical study of seven popular trials illustrates the interaction of the law and the mass media.
Popular Trials : Rhetoric, Mass Media, and the Law by
Contemporary scholarship illustrates the lawOCOs increasingly powerful role in American life; legal education, in turn, has focused on the problems and techniques of communication.aThis book addresses these interests through critical study of eight popular trials: the 17th-century trial of Dr. Henry Sacheverell, and the 20th-century trials of Scopes, the Rosenbergs, the Chicago Seven, the Catonsville Nine, John Hinckley, Claus von Bulow, and San Diego Mayor Larry Hedgecock.aSuch trials spark major public debates, become symbols of public life, and legitimize particular beliefs and institutions. Despite high visibility and drama, however, the popular trial has not received sufficient study as persuasive event.aLying at the intersection of the institutional practices of law and the mass media, the popular trial has confounded study according to the conventional assumptions of scholarship in both law and communication studies. aaaaaaaaaaa This volume defines popular trials as a genre of public communication, a genre that includes trials unusually prominent within public discourse.aFurther, popular trials are often characterize by special media presentations through televised coverage of the trial itself and news analysis, intense audience identification with the principal actors, and political and social consequences independent of the legal action.aThe essays in this volume stress the rhetorical functions of popular trials.aContributors in addition to the editor include Lawrance M. Bernabo, Barry Brummett, Celeste Michelle Condit, Juliet Dee, Susan J. Drucker, J. Justin Gustainis, Janice Platt Hunold, William Lewis, John Louis Lucaites, and Larry A. Williamson. "
The Scopes "Monkey Trial" by
Examines the famous Scopes "Monkey Trial" and the continuing debate over evolution and religion in American society. Features include narrative overview, biographical profiles, primary source documents, detailed chronology, and annotated sources for further study
Summer for the gods : the Scopes trial and America's continuing debate over science and religion by
Discusses one of the most famous court cases in history, in which a Tennessee high school teacher was put on trial for teaching evolution.
With this authoritative and engaging book, Edward J. Larson examines the many facets of the Scopes trial and shows how its enduring legacy has crossed religious, cultural, educational, and political lines. The "Monkey Trial," as it was playfully nicknamed, was instigated by the American Civil Liberties Union to challenge a controversial Tennessee law banning the teaching of human evolution in public schools. The Tennessee statute represented the first major victory for an intense national campaign against Darwinism, launched in the 1920s by Protestant fundamentalists and led by the famed politician and orator William Jennings Bryan. At the behest of the ACLU, a teacher named John Scopes agreed to challenge the statute, and what resulted was a trial of mythic proportions. Bryan joined the prosecutors and acclaimed criminal attorney Clarence Darrow led the defense - a dramatic legal matchup that spurred enormous media attention and later inspired the classic play Inherit the Wind.
Alabama Justice : The Cases and Faces That Changed a Nation by
WINNER OF THE ANNE B. & JAMES B. MCMILLAN PRIZE IN SOUTHERN HISTORY Examines the legacies of eight momentous US Supreme Court decisions that have their origins in Alabama legal disputes Unknown to many, Alabama has played a remarkable role in a number of Supreme Court rulings that continue to touch the lives of every American. In Alabama Justice: The Cases and Faces That Changed a Nation, Steven P. Brown has identified eight landmark cases that deal with religion, voting rights, libel, gender discrimination, and other issues, all originating from legal disputes in Alabama. Written in a concise and accessible manner, each case law chapter begins with the circumstances that created the dispute. Brown then provides historical and constitutional background for the issue followed by a review of the path of litigation. Excerpts from the Court's ruling in the case are also presented, along with a brief account of the aftermath and significance of the decision. The First Amendment (New York Times v. Sullivan), racial redistricting (Gomillion v. Lightfoot), the Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment (Frontiero v. Richardson), and prayer in public schools (Wallace v. Jaffree) are among the pivotal issues stamped indelibly by disputes with their origins in Alabama legal, political, and cultural landscapes. By examining such landmark twentieth-century milestones and eras such as the Scottsboro Boys trial, the Civil Rights movement, and the fight for women's rights through a legal lens, Brown sheds new and unexpected light on the ways that events in Alabama have shaped the nation. In addition to his analysis of cases, Brown discusses the three associate Supreme Court justices from Alabama to the Supreme Court: John McKinley, John Archibald Campbell, and Hugo Black. Their cumulative influence on constitutional interpretation, the institution of the Court, and the day-to-day rights and liberties enjoyed by every American is impossible to measure. A closing chapter examines the careers and contributions of these three Alabamians.
Black Communists Speak on Scottsboro : A Documentary History by
Black Communists Speak on Scottsboro, an account of a neglected chapter in the story of the Scottsboro saga, gives voice to a segment of the African American community that has often been ignored or distorted: black Communists.
Civil Rights Decisions of the United States Supreme Court by
The Japanese American decisions. The World War II internment of Japanese Americans. The Japanese American curfew case. Gordon Hirabayashi v. United States ; The Japanese American concentration camp case. Fred Korematsu v. United States -- The African American decisions. Mob justice. The Arkansas murder trial case. Moore v. Dempsey -- The Georgia rape trial case. The Scottsboro boys -- School desegregation. Segregated schools are not equal. Brown v. Board of Education I. -- With all deliberate speed. Brown v. Board of Education II -- The Little Rock desegregation crisis. Cooper v. Aaron -- Court-ordered busing. Swann v. Board of Education -- The right to vote. The Texas election cases. Nixon I ; Nixon II -- Public transportation. The woman who would not go to the back of the bus. Irene Morgan v. Virginia. Racially restricted housing. Shelly v. Kraemer -- Public accommodations. Heart of Atlanta motel v. United States -- Interracial marriage. Loving v. Virginia -- Affirmative action. Regents of the University of California v. Allan Bakke -- U.S. constitution
A pictorial history of the world's great trials, from Socrates to Eichmann by
Captures the climactic moments in the world's most riveting trials by providing a complete background on each trial
The Scottsboro Boys in Their Own Words : Selected Letters, 1931-1950 by
This is a collection of letters written by the nine African American defendants in the infamous March 1931 Scottsboro, Alabama, rape case. Though most of the defendants were barely literate and all were teenagers when incarcerated, over the course of almost two decades in prison they learned the rudiments of effective letter writing and in doing so forcefully expressed a wide range of perspectives on the falsity of the charges against them as their incarceration became a cause celebre both in the United States and internationally. Central to this book is the chronologically structured presentation of letters (1931-1950), including some correspondence from attorneys and members of Scottsboro support committees. The original grammar, syntax and vernacular of the defendants are maintained in a desire to preserve the authenticity of these letters.
Stories of Great Crimes and Trials, from American Heritage Magazine by
Includes articles on Daniel Webster, Lizzie Borden, Parson Avery, Daniel E. Sickles, Harry Thaw, Stanford White, Evelyn Nesbit, Aaron Burr conspiracy, Sacco-Vanzetti, William Penn, John Adams and Boston Massacre trial, trial of John Brown, Boss Tweed, Warren Harding and the Teapot Dome scandal, "Black Sox" 1920 World Series scandal, James Addison Reavis, Charles Ponzi, Johnson County War, Nat Turner, Dred Scott case, Scottsboro Case, assassination of Abraham Lincoln, assassination of James A. Garfield, and Mafia New Orleans lynchings, among others.
Stories of Scottsboro by
To white Southerners, it was "a heinous and unspeakable crime" that flouted a taboo as old as slavery. To the Communist Party, which mounted the defense, the Scottsboro case was an ideal opportunity to unite issues of race and class. To jury after jury, the idea that nine black men had raped two white women on a train traveling through northern Alabama in 1931 was so self-evident that they found the Scottsboro boys guilty even after the U.S. Supreme Court had twice struck down the verdict and one of the "victims" had recanted.This innovative work tells several stories. For out of dozens of period sources, Stories of Scottsboro re-creates not only what happened at Scottsboro, but the dissonant chords it struck in the hearts and minds of an entire nation.
The Factory Girls : A Kaleidoscopic Account of the Triangle Shirtwaist Factory Fire by
The twentieth century ushered in a new world filled with a dazzling array of consumer goods. Even the poorest immigrant girls could afford a blouse or two. But these same immigrant teens toiled away in factories in appalling working conditions. Their hard work and sacrifice lined the pockets of greedy factory owners who were almost exclusively white men. The tragic Triangle Waist Factory fire in 1911 resulted in the deaths of over a hundred young people, mostly immigrant girls, who were locked in the factory. Told from the perspective of six young women who lived the story, this book reminds us why what we buy and how we vote really matter.
Triangle : the fire that changed America by
Triangle is a poignantly detailed account of the 1911 disaster that horrified the country and changed the course of twentieth-century politics and labor relations. On March 25, 1911, as workers were getting ready to leave for the day, a fire broke out in the Triangle Shirtwaist factory in New York’s Greenwich Village. Within minutes it spread to consume the building’s upper three stories. Firemen who arrived at the scene were unable to rescue those trapped inside: their ladders simply weren’t tall enough. People on the street watched in horror as desperate workers jumped to their deaths. The final toll was 146 people123 of them women. It was the worst disaster in New York City history. Triangle is a vibrant and immensely moving account that Bob Woodward calls, A riveting history written with flare and precision.”
The Triangle Fire by
March 25, 2011, marks the centennial of the Triangle Shirtwaist Factory fire, in which 146 garment workers lost their lives. A work of history relevant for all those who continue the fight for workers' rights and safety, this edition of Leon Stein's classic account of the fire features a substantial new foreword by the labor journalist Michael Hirsch, as well as a new appendix listing all of the victims' names, for the first time, along with addresses at the time of their death and locations of their final resting places.
The Triangle Shirtwaist Factory Fire : A History Perspectives Book by
This book relays the factual details of the story of the Triangle Shirtwaist Factory fire of 1911. The narrative provides multiple accounts of the event, and readers learn details through the point of view of a teenage girl worker, a New York socialite, and a responding fireman. The text offers opportunities to compare and contrast various perspectives in the text while gathering and analyzing information about a historical event.
From the Ashes by
This segment of Sunday Morning is about the anniversary of the Triangle Shirtwaist Fire, in which 146 people died when a fire ripped through the New York City factory in which they worked.
Triangle Fire by
It was the deadliest workplace accident in New York City’s history. A dropped match on the eighth floor of the Triangle Shirtwaist Factory sparked a fire that killed more than a hundred innocent people trapped inside. The private industry of the American factory would never be the same.
The battle over school prayer : how Engel v. Vitale changed America by
It has become known to many as the moment when the U.S. Supreme Court kicked God out of the public schools, supposedly paving the way for a decline in educational quality and a dramatic rise in delinquency and immorality. The 6-to-1 decision in Engel v. Vitale (1962) not only sparked outrage among a great many religious Americans, it also rallied those who cried out against what they perceived as a dangerously activist Court. Bruce Dierenfield has written a concise and readable guide to the first and still most important case that addressed the constitutionality of prayer in public schools. The 22-word recitation in a Long Island school that was challenged in Engel v. Vitale was hardly denominational, not even overtly Christian, but a handful of parents saw it as a violation of the First Amendment's proscription against the establishment of religion. The case forced the Supreme Court to take a stand on Jefferson's "wall of separation" between church and state. When it did so, the Court declared that by endorsing the prayer recitation, no matter how brief, nondenominational, or voluntary, the Long Island school board had unconstitutionally approved the establishment of religion in school. - Publisher.
Black, white, and Brown : the landmark school desegregation case in retrospect by
Few decisions in constitutional law have had as dramatic an impact on American life as Brown v. Board of Education of Topeka, Kansas (1954). This collection of essays published by the Supreme Court Historical Society and CQ Press to commemorate Brown′s 50th anniversary, captures the complex history and legacy of the decision that changed public education and race relations in America.
A crime of self-defense : Bernhard Goetz and the law on trial by
Legal expert George Fletcher uses the celebrated trial of New York's "Subway Vigilante", Bernhard Goetz, as a springboard to probe the profound relationship between this defensive action, the public's understanding of it, and the court's interpretation of it according to the law.
The Devil in Massachusetts by
This historical narrative of the Salem witch trials takes its dialogue from actual trial records but applies modern psychiatric knowledge to the witchcraft hysteria. Starkey's sense of drama also vividly recreates the atmosphere of pity and terror that fostered the evil and suffering of this human tragedy.
Five Words That Changed America by
You have the right to remain silent. Most Americans know the warning, but few know the story behind it. Miranda v. Arizona is more than the source of this iconic phrase. It is a remarkable tale of devastating crimes, young victims, novice police officers, a serial sex offender, purse snatchings, robberies, strategic moves, brilliant lawyering, bravery, misogyny, murder, brutality, and poor choices. In the middle of it all were police departments struggling to change with the times, a United States Supreme Court in the throes of an individual rights revolution, and a nation navigating the turmoil of the 1960s. Based on first-person interviews and archival materials, Five Words That Changed America brings these stories to life and provides a birds-eye view of the case that changed America.
The innocent man : murder and injustice in a small town by
The book tells the story of Ronald 'Ron' Keith Williamson of Ada, Oklahoma, a former minor league baseball player who was wrongly convicted in 1988 of the rape and murder of Debra Sue Carter in Ada and was sentenced to death. After serving 11 years on death row, he was exonerated by DNA evidence and other material introduced by the Innocence Project and was released in 1999.
John Lennon vs. the U. S. A. by
New York immigration attorney Leon Wildes tells the incredible story of this landmark case --John Lennon vs. The USA --- that set up a battle of wills between John Lennon, Yoko Ono, and President Richard Nixon. Although Wildes did not even know who John Lennon and Yoko Ono were when he was originally retained by them, he developed a close relationship with them both during the eventual five-year period while he represented them and thereafter.
Nikola Tesla - Guided Weapons and Computer Technology by
This work, the third installment of the Tesla Presents series, is based upon legal records associated with the Nikola Tesla vs. Reginald A. Fessenden Patent Interference on the Fundamental AND-Gate logic circuit. While the U.S. Patent Office record is sufficiently important on the basis of its title alone, Tesla winning the claim to this invention, surprisingly the deposition contains heretofore unpublished disclosures by Tesla on the operation of his large high frequency resonators at both the Houston Street laboratory in New York and the Experimental Station in Colorado. Information is presented on what Tesla spoke of as the "art of individualization" for obtaining various levels of security in wireless transmissions. Also included is material on the history of radio-controlled devices, the first practical form of these being Tesla's radio-controlled "teleautomaton" - an operational boat first demonstrated to the public at Madison Square Garden in 1898.
Plessy v. Ferguson : a brief history with documents by
Using the full text of the Court's opinion, along with a selection of responses to the actual ruling, Plessy v. Ferguson, the book, provides context to help you re-create the complicated debates and conditions in which the decision occured.
Race, sex, and the freedom to marry : Loving v. Virginia by
Only a few decades ago marriage between people of different races was banned in many states. This is the story of an interracial Virginia couple who left Virginia to get married and then returned to live there as a couple, where they were arrested for violating state laws against interracial cohabitation. The appeal of their conviction became the case in which the U.S. Supreme Court struck down laws against interracial marriage and cohabitation
The Rosenberg File by
Based on extensive research in government files, papers, unpublished memoirs, and numerous interviews this account chronicles the history of the Rosenberg spy case.
The Salem Witch Trials : A Day-by-Day Chronicle of a Community Under Siege by
Based on over twenty years of original archival research, this history unfolds a nearly day-by-day narrative of the Salem Witch Trials as the citizens of Salem experienced the outbreak of hysteria.
Ukrainian Witchcraft Trials : Volhynia, Podolia, and Ruthenia, 17th–18th Centuries by
Drawing on quantitative data drawn from a range of trials Kateryna Dysa first describes the ideological background of the tribunals based on works written by priests and theologians that reflect attitudes toward the devil and witches. The main focus of her work, however, is the process leading to witchcraft accusations. From the stories of participants of the trials she shows what led people to enunciate first suspicions then accusations of witchcraft. Finally, she presents a microhistory from one Volhynian village, comparing attitudes toward two “female crimes” in the Ukrainian courts. The study is based on archival research including witch trials transcripts. Dysa approaches the trials as indications of belief and practice, attempting to understand the actors involved rather than dismiss or condemn them. She takes care to situate early modern Ukrainian witchcraft and its accompanying trials in a broader European context, with comparisons to some African cases as well.
United States v. Apple : competition in America by
One of the most followed antitrust cases of recent times--United States v. Apple--reveals a missed truth: what Americans most fear is competition itself. In 2012 the Department of Justice accused Apple and five book publishers of conspiring to fix e-book prices. The evidence overwhelmingly showed an unadorned price-fixing conspiracy that cost consumers hundreds of millions of dollars. Yet before, during, and after the trial millions of Americans sided with the defendants. Pundits on the left and right condemned the government for its decision to sue, decrying Amazon's market share, railing against a new high-tech economy, and rallying to defend beloved authors and publishers. For many, Amazon was the one that should have been put on trial. But why? One fact went unrecognized and unreckoned with: in practice, Americans have long been ambivalent about competition. Chris Sagers, a renowned antitrust expert, meticulously pulls apart the misunderstandings and exaggerations that industries as diverse as mom-and-pop grocers and producers of cast-iron sewer pipes have cited to justify colluding to forestall competition. In each of these cases, antitrust law, a time-honored vehicle to promote competition, is put on the defensive. Herein lies the real insight of United States v. Apple. If we desire competition as a policy, we must make peace with its sometimes rough consequences. As bruising as markets in their ordinary operation often seem, letting market forces play out has almost always benefited the consumer. United States v. Apple shows why supporting cases that protect price competition, even when doing so hurts some of us, is crucial if antitrust law is to protect and maintain markets
Until proven innocent : political correctness and the shameful injustices of the Duke lacrosse rape case by
The saga of the Duke lacrosse team members' alleged rape of an African-American stripper and the unraveling of the case against them. Covering all five aspects of the case (personal, legal, academic, political, and media), journalist Taylor and historian Johnson argue that law enforcement, a campaigning prosecutor, biased journalists, and left-leaning academics repeatedly refused to pursue the truth while scapegoats were made of these young men, recklessly tarnishing their lives. The story sheds new light on the dangers of rogue prosecutors and police and a cultural tendency toward media-fueled travesties of justice, and has broad political, racial, and cultural relevance to our times.
Ebooks
This link opens in a new window
Chat with a librarian.
Operated by ChatStaff and LibraryH3lp,
24/7 except federal holidays.
