ICC Resources - Humanities 130 - Myth and Human Culture - LibGuides at Isothermal Community College

Vampire Books

The Balkans since 1453 by Traian Stoianovich (Introduction by); L. S. Stavrianos
Call Number: DR36 .S83 1965
Blood Thirst by Leonard Wolf (Editor)
Publication Date: PR1309.V36 B58 1997
Encyclopedia of the Vampire by S. T. Joshi (Editor)
Call Number: PN56.V3 E63 2011
Medusa's Gaze and Vampire's Bite by Matt Kaplan
Call Number: GR825 .K357 2012
The Vampire by Nick Groom
Call Number: GR830.V3 G70 2018
Vampire Forensics by Mark Collins Jenkins
Call Number: GR830.V3 J44 2010

Articles from Journals, Magazines, and Trade Publications

Continental Europe Database
Full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions throughout Europe.

Publications are included from France, Italy, Germany, Denmark, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland, Spain, and Portugal. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
Credo Reference
A general reference collection of over 800 titles in a wide range of subject areas.

Includes Atlases, Dictionaries, Biographies, Encyclopedias, Handbooks, Statistics, and more. Credo also provides Topic Pages with collected information and links on a variety of timely and frequently accessed topics with cross-linking to the Library Catalog and other online databases.
Films on Demand
Contains streaming videos from top educational sources on a broad variety of subjects.

Users can create a personal account to save favorites, create playlists, and even create customized bookmarks within any program. All videos and video segments have direct access links and embed code, so they can easily be added to presentations or Moodle courses.
Gale in Context: World History
For those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in World History.

"World History Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field." The database merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Gale Power Search
Cross-search content from select Gale products, including Gale's OneFile periodicals, In Context products, and/or eBooks.

Search through over 40 databases across multiple disciplines for articles from magazines, journals, newspapers, reference books, reports, primary source documents, audio, video, and more.
ProQuest Central
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.

"ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world."
Wiley Online Library
Full-text articles from some of the most respected journals in a broad array of academic disciplines.

Multidisciplinary collection of millions of full-text journal articles from over 1,600 top-quality journals with no embargoes and the complete backfiles. Subjects covered include Agriculture, Aquaculture & Food Science; Anthropology; Architecture & Planning; Art & Applied Arts; Business, Economics, Finance & Accounting; Chemistry; Computer Science & Information Technology; Earth, Space & Environmental Sciences; Humanities; Law & Criminology; Life Sciences; Mathematics & Statistics; Medicine; Nursing, Dentistry & Healthcare; Physical Sciences & Engineering; Psychology; Social & Behavioral Sciences; Veterinary Medicine.

Article Links

"Balkans." Europe Since 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of War and Reconstruction, edited by John Merriman and Jay Winter, vol. 1, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2006. Gale in Context: World History, https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX3447000087/WHIC?u=ncliveisocc&sid=bookmark-WHIC&xid=46e12327.

Filipovic, Nenad. "Balkans." Europe, 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World, edited by Jonathan Dewald, vol.1, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2004. Gale in Context: World History, https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX3404900083/WHIC?u=ncliveisocc&sid=bookmark-WHIC&xid=667a5385.

Lagasse, Paul. "Balkan Peninsula." The Columbia Encyclopedia, 8th ed., Columbia University Press, 2018. Credo Reference, https://search.credoreference.com/search?q=Balkans&articleType=ENTRY&aid=17856.

Melton, Gordon J. "Central and Eastern Europe." The Vampire Almanac: The Complete History, 1st ed., Visible Ink Press, 2022. Credo Reference, https://search.credoreference.com/articles/Qm9va0FydGljbGU6NDg3MTU5OA==?q=Central+and+Eastern+Europe&aid=17856.

Melton, Gordon J. "Origins of the Vampire." The Vampire Book: The Encyclopedia of the Undead, 3rd ed., Visible Ink Press, 2022. Credo Reference, https://search.credoreference.com/articles/Qm9va0FydGljbGU6MzI4MzMx?q=Origins+of+the+Vampire&aid=17856.

Melton, Gordon J. "Southern Slavs, Vampires and the." The Vampire Book: The Encyclopedia of the Undead, 3rd ed., Visible Ink Press, 2011. Credo Reference, https://search.credoreference.com/articles/Qm9va0FydGljbGU6MzI4Nzk1?q=Southern+Slavs%2C+Vampires+and+the&aid=17856.

Weinstock, Jeffrey Andrew. "Vampire." The Ashgate Encyclopedia of Literary and Cinematic Monsters, 1st ed., Ashgate Publishing, 2014. Credo Reference, https://search.credoreference.com/articles/Qm9va0FydGljbGU6MzI3OTU4Mw==?q=Vampire&aid=17856.

Helpful Information

Chat with a librarian.

Chat loading...

Operated by ChatStaff and LibraryH3lp,
24/7 except federal holidays.

Phone: 828-395-1307

Email: library@isothermal.edu

Library Hours

Library Staff

Directions

College Homepage Isothermal Community College homepage.
Library Homepage Isothermal Community College homepage
NC LIVE NC LIVE is North Carolina’s statewide online library service. eBooks, magazines, newspapers, journals, media, and other online materials are available from any Internet connection via library websites. NC LIVE resources are available to all North Carolinians through their local public, community college, or academic library. Contact your local library for free access to NC LIVE resources. Login information for Isothermal students and employees is posted in Moodle.
Student/Employee Login Log into your Isothermal account to access email, Patriot Port, Moodle, and your other college services.
Interlibrary Loan Information about and form to request loans from other libraries facilitated by the Isothermal CCC Library.
A to Z Index of Databases A complete list of all databases offered by NC LIVE and the College Library.

Reference Books

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Folklore and Folklife [4 Volumes] by William M. Clements
Call Number: Ref GR35 .G75 2006 vol. 3
The New Encyclopaedia Britannica by Encyclopaedia Britannica, Inc.
Call Number: Ref AE5 .E363 2010 vol. 1
The World Book Encyclopedia by World Book, Inc.
Call Number: Ref AE5 .W55 2020 vol. 2

Vampire DVDs

The twilight saga : the complete 5-movie collection
Call Number: DVD